Types of SSL Certificate :

Types of SSL Certificate :

 There are several types of SSL certificates available to meet different needs:

Single-Domain SSL Certificates :

 Single-Domain SSL Certificates, as the name suggests, can only be applied to a single domain or a sub-domain, which means that if it is applied to a domain, it is required to secure the sub-domain.  This is what can be used for.

 These are suitable for small websites or applications that only require encryption for a specific domain or subdomain.  Single-Domain SSL Certificates are a cost-effective SSL solution.

 Multi-Domain SSL Certificates :

 Multi-Domain SSL Certificates, also known as Subject Alternative Name (SAN) certificates, allow multiple domains and sub-domains to be secured within a single certificate.  These provide convenience for businesses that manage multiple websites or online services.

 Multi-Domain SSL Certificate can secure domains like “example.com,” “example.net” and their respective sub-domains.  Multi-Domain SSL Certificate can be implemented in up to 100 domains and sub-domains.

Wildcard SSL Certificates :

 Wildcard SSL Certificates can be applied to secure one domain and its unlimited sub-domains.  These provide cost-effective and better security for websites with multiple sub-domains.

 For example, a Wildcard SSL Certificate issued for “*.example.com” can be issued for “mail.example.com,” “shop.example.com,” and any other subdomain under “example.com.”  Can apply on.

 Wildcard SSL Certificates are the best SSL solution for organizations that require websites with a large number of sub-domain structures.

 Unified Communications SSL (UCC SSL) :

Unified Communications SSL is designed specifically for Microsoft Exchange and Office communications servers.  It provides secure communications and encryption for domains and sub-domains associated with Microsoft products.  UCC SSL Certificates provide comprehensive security for email, instant messaging and other communication channels.

 Self-Signed SSL Certificates :

 Self-Signed SSL Certificates are SSL certificates that are signed by the website creator or administrator rather than by a third-party certificate authority (CA).

 Although these types of certificates also provide encryption, they lack the validation and trust that is issued by recognized certificate authorities (CA).  It is often used for testing purposes or in local networks.

Types of SSL Certificate Verification :

 There are several types of SSL certificate verification methods used by Certificate Authorities (CAs).  Let us know these verification types and their importance:

Domain Validated (DV) SSL Certificates :

 DV SSL Certificate is the most basic type.  These provide the minimum level of encryption and are relatively easy to implement.  DV SSLs only verify domain ownership and do not perform comprehensive verification of the certificate requester.  These are suitable for personal websites, blogs, and small businesses that only need basic encryption.

Organization Validated (OV) SSL Certificates :

 OV SSL Certificates provide a higher level of security than DV Certificates.  These authenticate the organization or business entity in addition to verifying domain ownership.  Certificate authorities (CA) also verify the legal existence and location of the entity before issuing the certificate.  OV Certificates are suitable for medium-sized businesses and e-commerce websites.

 Extended Validation (EV) SSL Certificates :

 EV SSL Certificates provide the highest level of security.  These undergo a strict verification process that includes verifying the legal existence, location and operational status of the institution.  Websites with EV SSL Certificates display a green address bar in most web browsers, indicating the highest level of security.  EV SSL Certificates are commonly used by large corporations, financial institutions, and e-commerce platforms.

Leave a Comment